The Chemical Industry Council of Illinois and the Illinois Chemical Education Foundation presents:


          The 2020 Davidson Award
      Presented annually to the outstanding chemistry teacher in Illinois


The Chemical Industry Council of Illinois (CICI), through the Illinois Chemical Education Foundation (ICEF), invites you to select a teacher(s) to represent your school as a candidate for the Davidson Award for outstanding high school chemistry teaching. 2020 will be the 54th consecutive year that CICI has presented the Davidson Award to recognize teaching excellence. ICEF will present the winner with a plaque commemorating the award and $3,000 at the ICEF/CICI Annual Scholarship Luncheon. ICEF/CICI may ask you, as the Davidson Award winner, to participate in an ICEF/CICI event in the year.


Candidates are evaluated on the basis of their innovative teaching methods, their ability to relate theory to practical chemistry, their participation in special programs and teaching success with their students. We use information supplied by each candidate and recommendations from the candidate's Principal/Department Head to determine which Nominees will be observed during an actual classroom visit.


Nomination forms for the 2020 Davidson Award are now being accepted.


To be considered, please have the Principal or Department Head complete the nomination card by November 15, 2019 and return it to:


Davidson Award Nomination Committee

Chemical Industry Council of Illinois

1400 E. Touhy Ave., Suite 110

Des Plaines, IL  60018

Fax - 847-544-5999


When we have received your nomination choice, a candidate information packet will be sent to the nominee that must be completed and returned to CICI by no later than Friday, January 10, 2020.


Please note that the nominees submitted in prior years, but not selected for the Davidson Award, can be nominated again.  Many of the past Award winners were nominated on several occasions before receiving the Award.  This is due to the many outstanding candidates we consider each year. *Note: If you have already received the Davidson Award, you can not apply for the award again.


Thank you in advance for your participation.  We hope you will recognize the outstanding chemistry teacher(s) at your school by nominating them for this prestigious award.




Candidate’s Name ____________________________          


Candidate’s Email Address ____________________________________


Candidate’s Name ______________________________


Candidate’s Email Address ____________________________________


School ______________________________________________________


Address ________________________________________________________________

City _________________________________________________ 


Zip __________________


Telephone ___________________________________                    

Best Time to Call _________________


Teaching Assignment _________________________          

Nominator’s Name ____________________________________


Relationship of Nominator to Candidate




If you have any questions regarding the scholarship program or ICEF, please e-mail your comments from the CICI Home Page ( or call CICI at 847-544-5995.




YEAR             NAME                                    SCHOOL


1966                 Carl Clader                            New Trier

1967                 James Davidson                    Senn

1968                 Ernest Salners                       Niles West

1969                 Ester Hand                             Mather

1970                 Sister Mary Bertrand              Cathedral

1971                 Edward Schap                        Naperville Central

1972                 Douglas Halsted                     Evanston Township

1973                 John Davik                              York Township

1974                 Kathryn McHugh                     Amundsen

1975                 John Thole                              St. Ignatius

1976                 James Dusablon                     Loyola Academy

1977                 Bettye Kaplan                          York Township

1978                 Donald Bauder                        Wheeling

1979                 Gerald Liebforth                      Evanston Township

1980                 Elwin (Al) Bourey                    Oak Park-River Forest

1981                 Frank Cardulla                        Niles North

1982                 William Urban                         Glenbrook South

1983                 George Allison                        Oak Park-River Forest

1984                 Patsy Mueller                          Highland Park

1985                 Walter Sherrill                         Kenwood Academy

1986                 Sherry Berman-Robinson       Carl Sandberg

1987                 Lee Marek                               Naperville North

1988                 Hermann Mueller                     Adlai Stevenson

1989                 Robert Lewis                           Downers Grove North

1990                 John Davidson                        Oak Park-River Forest

1991                 Rev. Bernard Horzen              St. Bede Academy

1992                 Raymond Bruzan                    Lanphier

1993                 Michael Offutt                          Barrington

1994                 Audrey Sanderson                  Prospect

1995                 Kenneth Spengler                   Palatine

1996                 Ann Levinson                          Niles West

1997                 Thomas Redig                        Downers Grove North

1998                 Laurel Dieskow                       Oak Forest

1999                 Michael Bachrodt                    William Fremd

2000                 Marianne Barker                     Carmel

2001                 Vincent Malek                         Marian Central Catholic

2002                 Kristi Ryken                            Maine West

2003                 Elizabeth Chamberlain           Tuscola Community

2004                 John Brodemus                       HL Richards High School

2005                 Michael Heinz                          Glenbard South High School

2006                 Jackie Stewart                         Quincy High School

2007                 Glenn Lid                                 Proviso East

2008                 Ami LeFevre                            Niles West High School

2009                 Karl Craddock                          Wm.Fremd High School

2010                 Jeff Christopherson                 Normal Community High School

2011                 Sue Bober                               Schaumburg High School

2012                 Shanna Piggott                       Grayslake Central High School

2013                 John Krestos                           Niles North High School

2014                 Tracy McDonald                      Hinsdale South High School

2015                 Tanya Katovich                        Hoffman Estates High School

2016                 Jennifer Cook Gregory            Moline High School

2017                 JulieAnn Villa                           Niles West High School  

2018                 Elisabeth Knierim                     Belleville West High School

2019                 Walt Kinderman                       Walter Payton College Prep High School